On 5th May a Mint Commission was appointed under the chairmanship of Pienaar. Philip Carl Minnaar (1876-?) who had been the Justice of peace at Pilgrim's Rest was appointed as secretary of the Mint Commission87, Willy Barter as treasurer and JS Joubert as additional member.

Pienaar (chairman), PC Minnaar (secretary, WJ Barter (Treasurer) & JS Joubert (additional member)
William Joseph Henry Barter a pro Boer Irishman had been the sheriff of Pilgrim's Rest since the middle 70's where he established an espionage network in the area to expose the smuggling trade of firearms to chief Sekhukhune.88 During the Anglo Boer he was sworn in as war commissioner for the Lydenburg district and served under General Ben Viljoen and later General Muller. He was a correspondent for the Standard Diggers News and The Star. The British police was trying to capture him for sending war news abroad.89

Johannes Stephanus Joubert, the additional member of the Commission who had been the ZA Government's Mine Commissioner at Pilgrims Rest was omitted from the list of people who got medals for the work they did for the Field Mint. It is still unsure whether stayed on as a member of the commission up to the end and received a medal or not.

87Muller in Vaderland 15 September 1935.

88 National Archive Pretoria. TAB SS 206 R744/76.

89 National Archive Pretoria. TAB PMO 40 PM 2702/01.

1. Introduction
2. Background
3. Pilgrim's rest
4. Contemplating the making of gold pounds
5. Permission for establishing a government mint
6. ZAR field mint at Pilgrim's rest
7. Workshop and machines
8. Process of making veldpond
9. Cabinet ministers visited Pilgrim's rest
10. The mint commission
11. Final product
12. Medals awarded
13. Veldpond as a reminder
14. How many veldpond were minted?
15. Mining property left behind in excellent condition
16. The last time the dies were used
17. Marshall's book
18. Diorama of the field mint at the empire exhibition 1936
19. Conclusion
20. References